Call for Nominations - DAA Award

Tuesday, February 26, 2013  

Call for Nominations - April 15, 2013 Deadline

CALI's Most Prestigious Award

Distinguished Achievement Award

Nominations are currently being accepted for CALI's most prestigious and honored award – the Distinguished Achievement Award (DAA). Recipients of this award have over an extended period of time, contributed an extraordinary amount of time and effort to CALI and to the betterment of the investigation and security professions.


The Distinguished Achievement Award is not an annual award and is not intended to be awarded every year. It is an honor bestowed on those individuals who have made their contributions over an extended period of time. Past DAA recipients and the current sitting President of CALI are not eligible for nomination.

Award Criteria

Recipients of the DAA are selected based on the following criteria:

  • Length of continuous membership in CALI
  • Contributions to CALI and the industry
  • Examples of leadership skills and their results
  • Examples of demonstrated ability to work with others
  • Focus on training, education and enhanced professionalism
  • Evidence of sustained support of this association
  • Why the nominator feels their nominee will enhance the continued integrity of this award

The Selection Committee for this award is made up of three outstanding members of the business, government or legal community with no ties to any investigation or security businesses. This committee must arrive, independently, at the same selection, or no award is presented. Neither the nominees nor the members of the Selection Committee are revealed prior to the final announcement.

Nomination Procedure

Any current member of CALI may submit nominations. All nominations should be written in a complete and comprehensive form. The letter of recommendation should highlight achievements and address the listed criteria. Nominations must be received no later than Monday, April 15, 2013. All nominations must be submitted in writing and forwarded through the U.S. mail to:
Jim Zimmer, CPI
Chairperson, DAA Committee
Benchmark Investigations
32158 Camino Capistrano, #A-415
San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675

The award will be presented at the CALI Annual Conference, which will be held June 6-8, 2013 at the Hyatt Regency Santa Clara, 5101 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, CA 95054.

Past Recipients

Jim Zimmer 2011

Walt Zwonitzer 2010

Barbara R. Burr 2008

Anthony W. Perrin 2006

Clarick G. Brown 2005

Mark A. McClain 2004

Francie Koehler 2003

Raymond E. Smothers 2001

John G. Talaganis 2000

Joseph S. Memolo 1999

Daniel Y. Jones 1998

William E. Weller* 1996

Steve Butin* 1995

Robert J. Frasco 1994

Robert C. Wallace 1993

Eddy L. McClain 1992

Jack H. Reed 1991

John H. Eppick 1990