Distinguished Achievement Award

Thursday, March 13, 2014  

Nominations are currently being accepted for CALI's most prestigious and honored award - the Distinguished Achievement Award (DAA). Recipients of this award have, over an extended period of time, contributed an extraordinary amount of time and effort to CALI, and to the betterment of the investigation or security professions in general.

The Distinguished Achievement Award is not an annual award and is not intended to be awarded every year. It is an honor bestowed on those individuals who have made their contributions over an extended period of time. Past DAA recipients and the current sitting President of CALI are not eligible for nomination. 

Award Criteria 
Recipients of the DAA are selected based on the following criteria: 

  1. Length of continuous membership in CALI
  2. Contributions to CALI and the industry 
  3. Examples of leadership skills and their results
  4. Examples of demonstrated ability to work with  others 
  5. Focus on training, education and enhanced   professionalism
  6. Evidence of sustained support of this association  
  7. Why the nominator feels their nominee will enhance the continued integrity of this award 

The Selection Committee for this award is made up of three outstanding members of the business, government, or legal community with no ties to any investigation or security businesses. This committee must arrive, independently, at the same selection, or no award is presented. The members of the Selection Committee are revealed only if the award is presented.  

Nomination Procedure 
Any current member of CALI may submit nominations. All nominations should be written in a complete and comprehensive form. The letter of recommendation should highlight achievements and address the listed criteria. Nominations must be received no later than Tuesday, April 15, 2014. All nominations must be submitted in writing and forwarded through the U.S. mail to: 
Jim Zimmer, CPI
Chairperson, DAA Committee 
Benchmark Investigations 
32158 Camino Capistrano, #A-415 
San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675

The DAA will be presented at the CALI Annual Conference2014 Annual Conference , which will be held June 5-7, 2014 at the Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, 41-000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270.

Past Recipients:

Jim Zimmer 2011
Walt Zwonitzer 2010
Barbara R. Burr 2008
Anthony W. Perrin 2006
Clarick G. Brown 2005
Mark A. McClain 2004
Francie Koehler 2003
Raymond E. Smothers 2001
John G. Talaganis 2000
Joseph S. Memolo 1999
Daniel Y. Jones 1998
William E. Weller* 1996
Steve Butin* 1995
Robert J. Frasco 1994
Robert C. Wallace 1993
Eddy L. McClain 1992
Jack H. Reed 1991
John H. Eppick 1990