Distinguished Achievement & Investigator of the Year


CALI's Most Prestigious and Honored Award

Call for Nominations Deadline: April 9, 2021

Nominations are currently being accepted for CALI's most prestigious and honored award the Distinguished Achievement Award (DAA). Recipients of this award have over an extended period of time contributed an extraordinary amount of time and effort to CALI and to the betterment of the professions in the investigation or security industries in general.

The Distinguished Achievement Award is not an annual award and is not intended to be awarded every year. It is an honor bestowed on those individuals who have made their contributions over an extended period of time. Past DAA recipients and the current sitting President of CALI are not eligible for nomination.

Award Criteria
CALI's highest honor, the Distinguished Achievement Award, is open to any CALI member who has, over the years, contributed an exceptional amount of their time, energy, and effort to CALI and to the betterment and professionalism of the investigative or security professions. Examples of the following criteria must be submitted in support of the nominee:

  • Length of continuous membership in CALI
  • Contributions to CALI and the industry
  • Leadership skills and their results
  • Demonstrated ability to work with others
  • Participation in training and education
  • Sustained support of CALI
  • Why the nominee will enhance the continued integrity of this Award

Those people nominating a member should include supporting documentation for the nomination including letters of support, testimonials, examples of their contributions to CALI, etc.

The Selection Committee for this award is made up of three outstanding members of the business, government, or legal community with no ties to any investigation or security businesses. This committee must arrive, independently, at the same selection, or no award is presented. Neither the nominees nor the members of the Selection Committee are revealed prior to the final announcement.

Nomination Procedure
Any current member of CALI may submit nominations. All nominations should be written in a complete and comprehensive form. Self-nominations will not be considered. Letter(s) of recommendation and other documentation must be included and should highlight achievements and address the award criteria. Nominations must be received no later than Friday, April 9, 2021.

All nominations must be submitted in writing and forwarded through the U.S. mail to:

Frank Huntington, III, CPI
5150 Fair Oaks Blvd.
Suite 101 #327
Carmichael, CA 95608

The DAA presentation will occur at the 2021 conference in Palm Springs, CA.

Previous Recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award:

2017  Frank Huntington III, CPI
2014  Chris Reynolds
2011  Jim Zimmer, CPI
2010  Walt Zwonitzer
2008  Barbara R. Burr, CPI
2006  Anthony W. Perrin
2005  Clarick G. Brown
2004  Mark A. McClain, CPI 
2003  Francie Koehler, CPI 
2001  Raymond E. Smothers, CPI
2000  John G. Talaganis, CPI 
1999  Joseph S. Memolo, CPI
1998  Daniel Y. Jones
1996  William E. Weller*
1995  Steve Butin*
1994  Robert J. Frasco*
1993  Robert C. Wallace, CPI
1992  Eddy L. McClain, CPI 
1991  Jack H. Reed, CPI*
1990  John H. Eppick



Call for Nominations Deadline: April 9, 2021

The Investigator of the Year Award is presented to the individual who has demonstrated outstanding professional service during the past year. 

Any Active, Associate, or Affiliate member of CALI is eligible for these awards.

  • Nominees for the Investigator of the Year award must be a licensed private investigator (or equivalent)
  • Affiliate member nominees must be working as an employee of a licensee or an agency who is exempt from licensure and is performing full-time investigative work.

Award Criteria
Judging will be based on the following achievements and contributions made during the past or current year, using the following criteria:

  • Outstanding professional achievement (information on a significant case or service). All must be articulated by the investigator making the nomination.
  • Special contribution to the profession (how the nominee has assisted their profession). All must be articulated by the investigator making the nomination.
  • Exceptional service to the public (the nominee’s involvement with charities and or community service(s).

The Awards Committee bases its selection on a complete nomination packet being received containing but not limited to a completed “Nomination Form” accompanied by support documentation showing how the nominee meets the three areas of award criteria. The nomination must be supported by letters in support of the nomination from the nominee’s clients, fellow investigators, private parties, elected officials, or others, which will support why the nominee deserves this award. These letters of support are necessary to the committee and the selection process.

Investigator of the Year Nomination Procedures

  • All nominations must be made by a CALI member. Each member may nominate only one candidate for the Award.
  • It is the nominating member’s responsibility to do the following for the nomination to be complete
    • Complete the online nomination form to be directed to the Awards Committee by April 9, 2021.
    • Include member’s nomination letter with a statement of worthy achievement, letters SUPPORTING the nomination, and any additional documentation to help confirm the award criteria listed above. Nominations without an official nomination form, letters, and documents in support of the nominee will not be considered.
    • Submit a completed nomination packet to the IOY Chair prior to the stated nomination deadline.
The nominator, nominee, and those supporting the nomination should collect the needed and required documents and all support letters. This will assure the worthiness of the candidate receiving the award. Additional support letters are key as they confirm that others inside and outside of the industry agree that the nominee is worthy of the award. The following are examples of supporting documents which should be submitted;
  • Personal Letters
  • Letters from friends, colleagues, City Officials, State Officials
  • Letters from clients
  • News Articles
  • Industry Publications
  • Certificates of Achievement 

Nominations can be sent by US mail to:
William H. Schneid, Ph.D.
Investigator of the Year Committee Chair
33490 Date Palm Drive, Suite 3066
Cathedral City, CA 92235

Or by email to: William H. Schneid, Ph.D. at [email protected]

(Must be postmarked no later than April 9, 2021. Email must be sent by midnight on April 9, 2021)

Previous Recipients of the Investigator of the Year Award:

Richard Rivero, CPI
William H. Schneid, Ph.D
Oleg Flaksman, CPI
Joseph Travers, CPI
CW Sellers
Jean Kyles, CPI
Andrew Hanson, CPI
Joe M. Serrano, CPI
Daniel Goldsmith
Chris Reynolds
Jesus Castillo*
Sheila J. Klopper
Samuel F. Brown, CPI
Anne Fields
Mike M. Pirouzian, CPI, CSP
Walt Zwonitzer
Mark A. McClain, CPI
Ann Archer
Francie Koehler, CPI
Allen P. Cardoza
Jay H. Rosenzweig, CPI
John P. Henebry*, CPI
William E. Weller*
Samuel H. Webster*
Cynthia H. Erdelyi, CPI
Roger L. Smith, CPI
John G. Talganis, CPI
John Hart
Hal Lipset*
Robert C. Wallace, CPI, CSP
Joseph S. Memolo, CPI
Terry Finn, CPI
Steve Mendenhall
Jack H. Reed*, CPI
Arnold L. Harris
Joseph B. Laski, CPI
Daniel Y. Jones
Daniel A. Cruzz

(no longer offered)

Previous Recipients of the Security Professional of the Year Award:

Frank Donahue
Mike M. Pirouzian, CPI, CSP
Brenda M. Knox
Minot B. Dodson*
James C. Cawood, CPI, CSP
Frank Costa
Alan G. Knox
Darryl Le Doux
George M. Gibbs*
Ray Karle
Catherine D. Rogers*
Vicky Emero
Michael Bruce