Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeDAA Award
Background Image URL //

CALI's Most Prestigious and Honored Award

Call for Nominations Deadline: April 1st of each year

Nominations are currently being accepted for CALI's most prestigious and honored award the Distinguished Achievement Award (DAA). Recipients of this award have over an extended period of time contributed an extraordinary amount of time and effort to CALI and to the betterment of the professions in the investigation or security industries in general.

The Distinguished Achievement Award is not an annual award and is not intended to be awarded every year. It is an honor bestowed on those individuals who have made their contributions over an extended period of time. Past DAA recipients and the current sitting President of CALI are not eligible for nomination.

Award Criteria
CALI's highest honor, the Distinguished Achievement Award, is open to any CALI member who has, over the years, contributed an exceptional amount of their time, energy, and effort to CALI and to the betterment and professionalism of the investigative or security professions. Examples of the following criteria must be submitted in support of the nominee:

  • Length of continuous membership in CALI
  • Contributions to CALI and the industry
  • Leadership skills and their results
  • Demonstrated ability to work with others
  • Participation in training and education
  • Sustained support of CALI
  • Why the nominee will enhance the continued integrity of this Award

Those people nominating a member should include supporting documentation for the nomination including letters of support, testimonials, examples of their contributions to CALI, etc.

The Selection Committee for this award is made up of three outstanding members of the business, government, or legal community with no ties to any investigation or security businesses. This committee must arrive, independently, at the same selection, or no award is presented. Neither the nominees nor the members of the Selection Committee are revealed prior to the final announcement.

Nomination Procedure
Any current member of CALI may submit nominations. All nominations should be written in a complete and comprehensive form. Self-nominations will not be considered. Letter(s) of recommendation and other documentation must be included and should highlight achievements and address the award criteria. Nominations must be received no later than April 1st of each year.

All nominations must be submitted in writing and forwarded through the U.S. mail to:

Frank Huntington, III, CPI
5150 Fair Oaks Blvd.
Suite 101 #327
Carmichael, CA 95608

If awarded, the DAA presentation will occur at the annual conference.

Previous Recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award:

2017 Frank Huntington III, CPI
2014 Chris Reynolds
2011 Jim Zimmer, CPI
2010 Walt Zwonitzer
2008 Barbara R. Burr, CPI
2006 Anthony W. Perrin
2005 Clarick G. Brown
2004 Mark A. McClain, CPI
2003 Francie Koehler, CPI
2001 Raymond E. Smothers, CPI
2000 John G. Talaganis, CPI
1999 Joseph S. Memolo, CPI
1998 Daniel Y. Jones
1996 William E. Weller*
1995 Steve Butin*
1994 Robert J. Frasco*
1993 Robert C. Wallace, CPI
1992 Eddy L. McClain, CPI
1991 Jack H. Reed, CPI*
1990 John H. Eppick