Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeInvestigator of the Year


Each year, the California Association of Licensed Investigators (CALI) seeks to honor individuals who have demonstrated exceptional support for CALI and the investigative community through its Awards program.

The Investigator of the Year Award (IOY) is presented to the individual who has demonstrated outstanding professional service during the past year. 

Do you know someone who has made notable contributions to the PI industry? Nominate them now! Nominations are currently being accepted for CALI's Investigator of the Year Award. The IOY award nominations deadline is August 23, 2024.

Past Recipients of the Investigator of the Year Award:

Roberto Rivera, CPI
Jay Paulino, CPI
Dan Alvarez
Richard Rivero, CPI
William H. Schneid*, Ph.D
Oleg Flaksman
Joseph Travers, CPI
CW Sellers
Jean Kyles, CPI
Andrew Hanson*, CPI
Joe M. Serrano, CPI
Daniel Goldsmith
Chris Reynolds
Jesus Castillo*
Sheila J. Klopper
Samuel F. Brown, CPI
Anne Fields
Mike M. Pirouzian, CPI, CSP
Walt Zwonitzer
Mark A. McClain, CPI
Ann Archer
Francie Koehler, CPI
Allen P. Cardoza
Jay H. Rosenzweig, CPI
John P. Henebry*, CPI
William E. Weller*
Samuel H. Webster*
Cynthia H. Erdelyi, CPI
Roger L. Smith, CPI
John G. Talganis, CPI
John Hart
Hal Lipset*
Robert C. Wallace, CPI, CSP
Joseph S. Memolo*, CPI
Terry Finn, CPI
Steve Mendenhall
Jack H. Reed*, CPI
Arnold L. Harris
Joseph B. Laski, CPI
Daniel Y. Jones
Daniel A. Cruzz

Call for Nominations Deadline: August 23, 2024


Any Active, Associate, or Affiliate member of CALI is eligible for the IOY award.
  • Nominees for the Investigator of the Year award must be a licensed private investigator (or equivalent).
  • Affiliate member nominees must be working as an employee of a licensee or an agency who is exempt from licensure and is performing full-time investigative work.
Award Criteria

Judging will be based on the following achievements and contributions made during the past or current year, using the following criteria:
  • Outstanding professional achievement (information on a significant case or service). All must be articulated by the investigator making the nomination.
  • Special contribution to the profession (how the nominee has assisted their profession). All must be articulated by the investigator making the nomination.
  • Exceptional service to the public (the nominee’s involvement with charities and or community service(s).
The Awards Committee bases its selection on a complete nomination packet being received and containing but not limited to a completed online “Nomination Form” accompanied by support documentation showing how the nominee meets the three areas of the award criteria. The nomination packet must include letters of support from the nominee’s clients, fellow investigators, private parties, elected officials, or others to support why the nominee deserves the IOY award. The letters of support are necessary to the committee and the selection process.

Investigator of the Year Nomination Procedures
  • All nominations must be made by a CALI member. Each member may nominate only one candidate for the Award.
  • It is the responsibility of the nominating member to submit a complete nomination packet. Incomplete nomination packets will not be considered.

    • Complete the online Nomination Form to be directed to the Awards Committe  
    • Include member’s nomination letter with a statement of worthy achievement, letters supporting the nomination, and any additional documentation to help confirm the award criteria listed above. Nominations without an official nomination form, letters, and documents in support of the nominee will not be considered.
    • Submit a completed nomination packet to the IOY Chair prior to the stated nomination deadline.
The nominator, nominee, and those supporting the nomination should collect the needed and required documents and all support letters. This will assure the worthiness of the candidate receiving the award. Additional support letters are key as they confirm that others inside and outside of the industry agree that the nominee is worthy of the award. Incomplete nomination packets will not be considered. The following are examples of supporting documents that should be submitted:
  • Personal Letters
  • Letters from friends, colleagues, City Officials, State Officials
  • Letters from clients
  • News Articles
  • Industry Publications
  • Certificates of Achievement 
Nominations can be sent to the Investigator Of the Year Award Chairperson by US mail to:

Roberto Rivera, CPI CCDI
Rivera & Associates
2118 Walsh Ave Suite 100
Santa Clara, CA 95050 

Or by email to: Roberto Rivera, CPI, at

Nominations must be postmarked no later than August 23, 2024. Nominations submitted by email must be sent by midnight on August 23, 2024.

If awarded, the IOY award presentation will occur at the CALI Annual Conference, to be held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs on October 17-19, 2024.